Current track




Three senators dump PDP for ‘peaceful’ APC

Post created on June 30, 2021

A total of four lawmakers have jumped ship from PDP to APC this week.

Ahmed Lawan

Three Senators belonging to the Peoples Democratic Party, on Wednesday, resigned their membership of the party and defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).


A total of four lawmakers have jumped ship from PDP to APC this week and Senate President Ahmad Lawan says more PDP senators will join the APC. The defecting lawmakers accuse PDP of tyranny, leadership failure.

Senators Ya’U Sahabi (Zamfara North), Lawali Hassan Anka (Zamfara West), and Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North) all made their defections official in letters read during plenary on Wednesday, June 30, 2021.

Sahabi blamed internal crisis in the party in Zamfara as the reason for his defection to the ‘peaceful and more formidable’ APC.

Both Zamfara lawmakers followed in the footsteps of Governor Bello Matawalle who was officially welcomed into the APC on Tuesday, June 29.

Speaking on his defection in a letter addressed to the Senate on Wednesday, Nwaoboshi said the PDP in Delta was guilty of ‘tyranny and gross failure of leadership’.

The senator was welcomed to the party by President Muhammadu Buhari last week.

Mohammed Hassan (Zamfara Central) also officially resigned from the PDP during Tuesday’s plenary, and Ahmad hinted on Wednesday he has also joined the APC.

Even though the constitution stipulates that a lawmaker can change parties without losing their seat only if their party is in crisis or merges with another, changing parties for no good reason is hardly ever punished and is commonplace.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *