Current track




BET Awards 2021: Burnaboy, Queen Latifah, Kirk Franklin and others win at Microsoft Theatre

Post created on June 28, 2021

The 21st annual BET Awards returned Sunday night with the theme “Year of the Black Woman.” Award-winning actress Taraji P. Henson hosted the ceremony from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, where a live audience attended for the first time since the pandemic began.

This year’s festivities celebrated the “Year of the Black Woman,” which included honoring Queen Latifah with a Lifetime Achievement Award.


A special tribute to DMX also featured performances by Busta Rhymes, Method Man, Swizz Beatz, and Griselda.


Frenemies Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby led the night’s nominations with seven each; she walked away the night’s big winner with four awards, meanwhile DaBaby was shut out. Rounding out the nominees were newly pregnant Cardi B and Drake with five noms each, plus Anderson .Paak, Bruno Mars, Chloe X Halle, and Chris Brown each with four noms.


Check out the full list of winners below.


Lifetime Achievement BET Award
Queen Latifah

Shine a Light Award
Darnella Frazier


Album of the Year

The Weeknd – After Hours
DaBaby – Blame It on Baby
Megan Thee Stallion – Good News
Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales (Winner)
Nas – King’s Disease
Chloe X Halle – Ungodly Hour

Heaux Tales BET Awards

Jazmine Sullivan accepts the album of the year award for Heaux Tales as her mother Pam Sullivan looks on at right at the BET Awards at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist

H.E.R. (Winner)
Jazmine Sullivan
Jhené Aiko
Summer Walker

Best Male R&B / Pop Artist

Anderson .Paak
Chris Brown (Winner)
The Weeknd

Best Female Hip-hop Artist

Cardi B
Coi Leray
Doja Cat
Megan Thee Stallion (Winner)

Best Male Hip-hop Artist

J. Cole
Jack Harlow
Lil Baby (Winner)
Pop Smoke

BET Awards - Lil Baby

Best New Artist

Coi Leray
Flo Milli
Giveon (Winner)
Jack Harlow
Pooh Shiesty

Best Collaboration

Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP” (Winner)
DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”
DJ Khaled featuring Drake – “Popstar”
Jack Harlow featuring DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne – “Whats Poppin (Remix)”
Megan Thee Stallion featuring DaBaby – “Cry Baby”
Pop Smoke featuring Lil Baby & DaBaby – “For the Night”

Best Group

21 Savage & Metro Boomin
Chloe X Halle
Chris Brown & Young Thug
City Girls
Silk Sonic (Winner)

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Bebe Winans – “In Jesus Name”
CeCe Winans – “Never Lost”
H.E.R. – “Hold Us Together”
Kirk Franklin – “Strong God” (Winner)
Marvin Sapp – “Thank You for It All”
Tamela Mann – “Touch From You”


Alicia Keys featuring Khalid – “So Done”
Brandy featuring Chance the Rapper – “Baby Mama”
Bri Steves – “Anti Queen”
Chloe X Halle – “Baby Girl”
Ciara featuring Ester Dean – “Rooted”
SZA – “Good Days” (Winner)

Viewer’s Choice Award

Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”
Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”
DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”
DJ Khaled featuring Drake – “Popstar”
Drake featuring Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”
Lil Baby – “The Bigger Picture”
Megan Thee Stallion featuring Beyoncé – “Savage (Remix)” (Winner)
Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Video of the Year

Cardi B – “Up”
Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP” (Winner)
Chloe X Halle – “Do It”
Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”
Drake featuring Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”
Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom
Bruno Mars & Florent Déchard (Winner)
Cole Bennett
Colin Tilley
Dave Meyers
Hype Williams

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)
Burna Boy (Nigeria) (Winner)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Emicida (Brazil)
Headie One (Uk)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Young T & Bugsey (Uk)
Youssoupha (France)

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act

Arlo Parks — United Kingdom
Bramsito — France
Bree Runway — United Kingdom (Winner)
Elaine — South Africa
MC Dricka — Brazil
Ronisia — France
Tems — Nigeria

Best Movie

Coming 2 America
Judas and the Black Messiah (Winner)
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
One Night in Miami
The United States Vs. Billie Holiday

Best Actress

Andra Day (Winner)
Angela Bassett
Issa Rae
Jurnee Smollett
Viola Davis

Best Actor

Aldis Hodge
Chadwick Boseman (Winner)
Damson Idris
Daniel Kaluuya
Eddie Murphy
Lakeith Stanfield

Youngstars Award

Alex R. Hibbert
Ethan Hutchison
Lonnie Chavis
Marsai Martin (Winner)
Michael Epps
Storm Reid

Sportswoman of the Year Award

A’ja Wilson
Candace Parker
Claressa Shields
Naomi Osaka (Winner)
Serena Williams
Skylar Diggins-Smith

Sportsman of the Year Award

Kyrie Irving
Lebron James (Winner)
Patrick Mahomes
Russell Westbrook
Russell Wilson
Stephen Curry

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *